Duo Axus Mundi | Joëlle MAURIS


- Cellist -

Duo Axus Mundi

Cellist Joëlle Mauris and pianist Viva Sanchez Morand met at the “Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève” while pursuing their undergraduate studies. Since then, the two young artists are involved in a thorough work of chamber music, in conjunction with advanced research in musicology. Their insatiable interest in Music and contemporary creations led them to form Duo Axus Mundi in order to share with the public their love of the musical art.

Having impressed audiences and the press with their sensitive and dynamic productions, Duo Axus Mundi has offered public performances in Canada, Switzerland, France, and Austria. They have been broadcasted live on a Swiss radio channel, the Radio Télévision Suisse Romande Espace 2. The two musicians have also given recitals to raise money for various humanitarian projects. Recipient of scholarships, the duo took part in prestigious festivals such as the Toronto Summer Academy of Music & Festival in Canada, the Festival of Chamber Music in Schaffhausen in Switzerland, l’Académie et Festival des Arcs in France. They played in master classes for the Vienna Piano Trio, Paul Watkins, Ian Swensen, Ana Chumachenco, Wendy Champney, Wen-Sinn Wang, Werner Bärtschi, Xavier Gagnepain, Marietta Orlov, Gottlieb Wallisch, amongst others.


Repertory of the Duo Axus Mundi

Sonatas for cello and piano :

Bach Johann Sebastian, sonata for viola da gamba and piano No 3 in G minor

Beethoven Ludwig van, sonata No 1 in F major, Opus 5 No 1

Beethoven Ludwig van, sonata No 2 in G minor, Opus 5 No 2

Beethoven Ludwig van, sonata No 3 in A major, Op. 69

Beethoven Ludwig van, sonata No 4 in C major, Op. 102 No 1

Beethoven Ludwig van, sonata No 5 in D major, Op. 102 No 2

Brahms Johannes, sonata in E minor, Op. 38

Brahms Johannes, sonata in F major, Op. 99

Carter Elliott, Sonata

Chopin Frédéric, sonata in G minor, Op. 65

Chostakovich Dmitri, sonata in D minor, Op. 40

Prokofiev Sergei, sonata in C major, Op. 119

Schnittke Alfred, sonata No 1

Pieces for cello and piano :

Bruch Max, « Kol Nidrei », Op. 47

Beethoven Ludwig van, « 7 variations sur un thème de Mozart», Wo046

Chausson Ernest, « Pièce », 39

Dvoràk Antonin, « Waldesrühe », 68 No 5

Fauré Gabriel, « Sicilienne », Op. 78

Fauré Gabriel, « Elégie », 24

Fauré Gabriel, « Après un rêve », 7 No 1

Fauré Gabriel, « Papillon », 77

Fauré Gabriel, « Sérénade », 98

Fauré Gabriel, « Romance », 69

Holliger Heinz, « Aurora », Romancendres

Mendelssohn Félix, « Chant sans paroles », Op. 109

Rachmaninov Sergei, « Vocalise », No 14

Saint-Saëns Camille, « le Cygne »

Schumann Robert, « Fantasiestücke», Op. 73

Schumann Robert, « Adagio & Rondo», Op. 70

Schumann Robert, « 5 Stücke im Volkston», Op. 102